Seven Days

Please press play: 

In my newfound mindset, I’ve decided to do one thing every day this week for myself. The only requirement is that it’s for me and it brings me unbridled joy.  I finally finished reading my book, You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero.  It’s all about the laws of attraction and envisioning what you want out of life and you just have to show up to receive it. Like, straight-up blind faith in the unknown. *single blink* I’ve never done ANYTHING like this before but in the first few days, it’s worked! Here’s where we stand on my “Happiness Adventure”:

SUNDAY – I asked my mother to help me find a new couch. I’m finally at a place where I want to get my condo sorted. It will be slow and steady-going but I will make this place my home. I’ve been thinking about this couch; how it feels when I sit on it, the shape of it, how much I want to spend on it. I found a few that were close but nothing excited me. In the final store of the day, there it was.  My cheeks hurt from smiling so hard. I just sat on it for the majority of the visit, I didn’t need to look at anything else – we found each other.The best part is, I paid for it in cold, hard cash. AND THE BONUS, when I got home, my tax refund was in the mail. The couch basically cost me $200. THANKS UNIVERSE!

MONDAY – Here is the exact status update I posted on Facebook: “The Spadina Station madness forced me to take the Bathurst streetcar. I passed a record store and envisioned myself walking in buying “Love TKO.” I just went in & they had two Teddy Pendergrass albums in the store. Now they have one. SQUEEEEEE!”

TUESDAY – It was Client Appreciation Day at the Renaissance Hotel. Whenever I receive invitations that pull me away from work, I decline because I have “so much to do” and I’d “rather get things completed so I don’t have to worry about them later.”  Taking my “yes, and…” philosophy into account, I accepted the invite. I ate lunch and watched the Toronto Blue Jays in absolutely luxury for the entire afternoon. It was delightful.

I’m not quite sure what Wednesday or the rest of the week will bring but everything’s coming up Milhouse and I couldn’t be more thrilled with the results.

What are you up to this week? What are you doing to make yourself happy?

Milhouse

2 responses

  1. I’m SO onboard with this! I’ve been making the same effort: one thing every day that makes me happy. I’ve been going through some stuff that makes me pretty unhappy and it’s amazing how much of a difference taking the time to make myself smile makes. If I can take ownership of my own unhappiness I can also take ownership of my own happiness! This afternoon I plan to take a long walk through the park with an iced coffee if the rain can hold off long enough! Best of luck with your happy project 🙂

Leave a Reply

