As Days Go By

Please press play: 

So I read a profile the other day and didn’t hesitate to send a message to him. Here it is:

Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 9.40.59 PM

Him:

Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 9.43.35 PM

*single blink*  Ah yes, mild racism on Christmas Day via an online dating site. There is nothing I like more than dealing with this but not today.

Me: Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 9.45.39 PM

Him:

Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 9.45.53 PM

While I would’ve blocked this guy after his first reply, I was bored and thought this would make a great post just to show y’all who think this is no longer an issue…that it’s still, in fact, an issue.

Me:

Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 9.46.00 PM

Him:

Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 9.52.18 PM

Me:

Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 9.52.26 PM

The rest of this conversation string went on and on because he needed to know the largest penis I’ve ever had. I said if I told him, it would come after him and force him to sit on it. While this conversation was happening, another lovely man reached out to call me a nerd but told me he could make me pretty. This philanthropist also implored I “quit speaking properly” because I’m black and should let my Africa show.

Racism isn’t just someone saying/typing “nigger” or whichever other paint-by-colour term goes with your race. Let’s be real – it’s a belief system that infects everything that rules your life. But let me tell you about MY belief system: your intent to make me feel anything less than worthy speaks volumes about how little you think of yourself. *triple snaps*

World, be better.

With that, I’m happy to announce the following after 12 years of online dating:

Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 10.18.57 PM

applause

Hello, 2013. You. Look. Marvelous!!!

4 responses

    • These people are the people who look you right in the face and have civil conversations. These are someone’s mother, father, kid, sibling, co-worker, associate, etc. These are everyday people you’d never suspect unless you were a visible minority and that’s the scary part. AH WELL! It ain’t nothing new but I’m happy to off the site! 🙂

  1. Came here via Twitter. Needed to say: I hope Winslow-reference buddy gets run over by a KFC delivery truck on his way home from the clinic after a ho with a diseased vag maliciously squeezes her juice like a bursting rancid lemon into his eye. I think what really I find really irksome–because it’s not like the foulness itself shocks me; people are so unbelievably ignorant and lame…yesterday’s news from way back when–is the fact that as per your claim (about his funny profile, plus your comment reply) he seemed like a normal dude…who lures an unsuspecting person in and THEN unleashes the pathetic, played-out bigotry. I wish people would just be upfront about this stuff. The shock value is gone. This is just angering.

    • You’ve got that right – the shock value is gone. The fact that when I see something like that, I don’t even bother sighing. I shake my head, calculate the year and then confirm nothing’s changed. That should never be the case. One shouldn’t get used to racism or prejudice or sexism or what-have-you.

      But there it is.

      And yes, his profile was just a very cool write-up where he was funny and his photos showed an attractive man. For some reason, I have a feeling that with this guy, it wouldn’t matter who messaged him – he would go after them with something. I think that’s his purpose. He gets off on that. By the end of his rant, he was begging me to give him my email address so he could send me a photo of his “10.5” penis.” So really…there are more issues at hand then the ones I dealt with. Child is confused.

      I appreciate your comment though. I hope you keep coming back and if you don’t, I’m glad this is the one you chose to respond to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

