9 to 5

Please press play: 

#5 – DON’T put “have one,” “yes” or “ask me” under your profession.

This is more of a pet peeve of mine than most anything else on online dating profiles, when men try to be mysterious and secretive about their professions and here’s why:

I’m not a GD golddigger nor a stalker. I’m not saying there aren’t people out there looking for lawyers, doctors and other executive type individuals who are assumed to have money for sugar daddy/mama status. If you’re uncomfortable sharing that information, just leave it blank and don’t try to be cute. It’s not original, this post proves that it’s happening by more people than you. *single blink*  Gentlemen, just so we’re clear: I pay my own mortgage, I buy my own wine and I travel by m’damn self…I don’t need you or your CEO paycheck to make it rain. Got it?

We get it, we get it. You want  to be mysterious.

We get it, we get it. You want to be mysterious.

Real talks? Listing a profession is another way to engage in conversation. We’re not asking you to list your company name and address. Whether it be something I relate to or something I’m curious about, it allows me to ask questions because I’m legitimately curious. You’re a tv producer? Awesome! Tell me all about it because I’m a television junkie. You’re a chef? Wicked! I love to eat, what would be THE meal you’d make to show a gal your kitchen skills? You’re an electrician and your profile says you went to school for Communications. I can totally relate because I’m doing something I never thought I’d be doing when I thought about the future. If you tell me your story, I’ll tell you mine. DO YOU SEE? Look at how this sparks conversation.

Stop being ridiculous. It’s not mysterious nor intriguing, it’s just annoying. We’re all adults. If you come across the golddigging monsters that live among us. just ignore, block or delete. It’s really not that hard.

Leave a Reply

