Down On Bended Knee

Please press play: 

I went to see Rascal Flatts in Hamilton on Friday and it was, of course, one of the best concerts I’ve been to in a very long time. (PLEASE NOTE: I understand this is a public blog and everyone is allowed free speech, but if you say one negative thing about country music or Rascal Flatts, I will make your life a living hell.  Joe Don, Gary and Jay have gotten me through many a hard time in life and love so I don’t give a flying fig to hear your opinion of how much you hate this band, their fashion, the sound of ‘new country’ or whatever. Got it?)

*single blink*

Back to my story: it was a night of terrible traffic, burgers and hot dogs, large sodas, dancing, singing, plotting our return to Copps Coliseum  for Eric Church (*swoon*) and, oh yeah, A MOTHER-F*CKING PROPOSAL HAPPENING DIRECTLY BESIDE ME DURING MY FAVOURITE RASCAL FLATTS SONG! I have never been thisclose to a man asking someone to marry him. I was in the aisle seat and he was crouched on his knee on the stairs directly beside me! I turned to my besties and exclaimed, “Are you effing kidding me?” All I heard was a low groan from my best friend beside me because I’m obviously going to turn this situation into making me the victim of romance assault.

Now, I didn’t know I drank a forty of Haterade that day, but I guess I sucked back a bottle and subsequently blocked any memory of it like a trauma. I’ve had several things happen in my dating life: been dumped by phone, text, email, disappearance, fax, carrier-pigeon. I’ve been the dreaded bridesmaid. I’ve been stood up, punched by a stranger in the street who wanted my attention, been stalked and the list goes on and on. But for some reason, THIS….this bloody display of love during a moment when my heart was already seeping emotions from every ventricle made me lose it. I thought I loved love. I thought I loved seeing blatant displays of it because it gave me hope and showed me it still exists in this world. This extreme hate came out of nowhere and manifested itself in attitude toward no one in particular.

Basically what I did the moment I realized what was happening.

Have you seen that new dieting commercial where the woman says: “All this time I thought I hated the sound of children’s laughter, it turns out…I was just hungry.”  I feel like I’m living that right now. All this time I thought I loved seeing people in love, it turns out…it’s my trigger to transform into the Incredible Hulk.

Leave a Reply

